In the Beginning, They Were Writers – Lisa Orchard

Welcome, Lisa Orchard! 20111210_ABS_1296[1]

Hello Everyone! I hope all is well with you! My name is Lisa Orchard and I’m an author for the Young Adult market. Thanks Kay for allowing me to be a guest today. It’s greatly appreciated.

Kay wanted me to take a moment and tell you a little about myself and my writing history. So here we go!

I’ve been writing since fifth grade. I was an avid reader and I loved The Bobbsey Twins, Trixie Belden, and Nancy Drew. I loved mysteries. So, my family wasn’t surprised when I started writing my own. I illustrated them too…but my talent is really writing. My pictures were a little scary to say the least! (wink) That’s when I knew I wanted to be a writer.

So, I kept writing my little stories and in school I took as many English, Mythology and Creative Writing classes that were available. I earned all A’s in those courses…I was sure I was a natural.

It was during this time that I developed strong bonds with some of my classmates.  My friends and I not only loved reading about Nancy Drew…we wanted to be Nancy Drew. And wouldn’t you know it there was a neighborhood mystery that needed to be solved. Of course, we were on the case. It was a case of vandalism and we never did solve it, but that summer stands out as being one of my best memories.

Well…the Nancy Drew phase passed… but the desire to become an author never dampened. It burned bright all throughout my high school and college career.

I kept writing, but there were times when I had to put it aside because life does get busy. It wasn’t until I decided to stay home with the kids that I thought about chasing the old author dream again. I picked up my pen and began my novel “The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer”.

I finished “The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer” and decided to go for the next step.  Publication.  And here I am today…with two published novels for the upper middle grade/lower YA market.

And wouldn’t you know it…they’re both mysteries!  So, anyone who loves Nancy Drew will love my books. Here’s what one young reader said about my first book.  She really enjoyed it!

See what fans are saying!

The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer by Lisa Orchard is an absolutely amazing book. 5 out of 5 bookworms for sure.

The whole time it keeps you guessing and thinking about what is going to happen. It also has a little hint of humor. This story of great friends takes you on a mysterious and suspenseful journey through a town of weirdos. It was very hard to put down. Every chapter there was a new twist that kept me up late at night reading. The characters were very different some serious, scary, and most of all silly! All ages would love this book and never want to stop reading.

The book is a great mystery and almost seems real. If you get scared or disgusted easily I would not suggest this book but if you’re like me and are not scared very easily you will love it as much as I do.

The Super Spies are like Nancy Drew of the twenty first century but MORE FABULOUS!!! This book is a must read for all ages.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

 ssclk“The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer”

This book opens in a small town in Michigan where fifteen-year-old Sarah Cole is stuck spending the summer at her Aunt and Uncle’s with her sister, Lacey. She’s not happy with the situation until she befriends a girl named Jackie. The three girls stumble upon the ruthless murder of a reclusive neighborhood woman. One of the officers investigating the crime believes the girls are responsible for her death. Fearing that this officer will frame them for the murder, the girls organize their own detective squad. They become the Super Spies and start their own fact-finding mission.  The Super Spies can’t understand why anyone would want to murder the “Cat Lady” until they start digging into her past and discover a horrible crime that happened thirty years ago. They uncover a connection between the two crimes and attempt to bring this information to the police, only to be reprimanded for meddling in the inquest. Not only are the girls upset by the admonition, but they also struggle with the fact that their exuberant investigating could provide a legal loophole allowing the killer to go free. To make matters worse, the police don’t even believe them. Frustrated by this turn of events, the Super Spies realize it’s up to them to snare the Cat Lady killer, or die trying…

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/Super-Spies-Lady-Killer-ebook/dp/B007JZH61K/

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-super-spies-and-the-cat-lady-killer-lisa-orchard/1109518725?ean=2940014338202

TheSuperSpiesandtheHighSchoolBomber 500x750“The Super Spies and the High School Bomber”

This book opens in a small town in Michigan where Sarah and her sister Lacey are now living with their Aunt and Uncle. Still reeling from the fact her parents have disappeared, Sarah starts the school year with her new friend Jackie Jenkins. When Sarah learns the school has been bombed, she’s filled with dread. Uncle Walt is a teacher, and he was in the school when the bomb exploded. Taking matters into her own hands, Sarah decides to search for him. The rest of the Super Spies are right behind her. When a fireman chases them away from the school, Sarah becomes suspicious. She decides to investigate. The FBI arrives on the scene. Sarah realizes this bombing could have even bigger implications. Searching for the bombers, Sarah is introduced to the world of terrorism. She fears that the bombing and her parents’ disappearance are connected and terrorists are involved. To make matters worse, the bombers are determined to finish the job. Can the Super Spies find the bombers before it’s too late?

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Super-Spies-School-Bomber-ebook/dp/B008P8O7OY

Barnes and Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-super-spies-and-the-high-school-bomber-lisa-orchard/1112263058?ean=2940014992244

…………………………………………………………………………………..

You can find me at these social media sites:

Website:  http://www.lisaorchard.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lisa-Orchard/328536613877060?ref=hl

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lisaorchard1

So, if you’re interested in a new series for your tween/teen. Check out the Super Spies! Thanks for taking the time to read my post! Leave a comment; I’d love to hear from you!

12 thoughts on “In the Beginning, They Were Writers – Lisa Orchard

  1. Molly Daniels says:

    OMG….were we separated at birth? I learned the concept of creative writing in the 5th grade also, and was hooked on Nancy Drew, Cherry Ames, Vicki Barr, The Dana Girls, and the Bobbsey Twins. Also Honey Bunch. Trixie didn’t come along until I was 13, and between my sis and I, we managed to acquire most of that series.

    I wanted to be an archaeologist until a hero named Indiana Jones came along….I had no desire to be shot at with poisoned darts or run from large boulders….so I went back to writing. Wrote my own kiddie book, complete with (very bad) illustrations as a senior in HS for Senior English. And now, nearly 30 years later, I’m a published author with 9 books pubbed:)

    Kudos to you for following your dream!

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Molly, we must have been! I love that I have a literary twin out there! 🙂 Congrats on your success! That is awesome. I would love to chat with you sometime about our shared history and the publishing industry! 🙂

  2. Sara Stinson says:

    HAHA! When I was a child, we used to terrorize the neighborhood with our walkie-talkies trying to solve mysteries. We had a group of around eight to ten kids all the time. Lisa’s book caught my attention because it brought back so many memories. We would hide and watch this old and grumpy man on our street. He scared us! If he saw us outside, he would come out hollering and shaking his fists! Never knew if he meant it, or was having fun with us! HUM…

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Wow! I didn’t realize there were so many people who wanted to be detectives when they were young! I’m glad my books brought back memories! Writing them sure did for me! And I love it that you had walkie talkies! Thanks for stopping by Sara! 🙂

  3. stephaniemichels says:

    Hi Lisa! I love your books. They are both interesting and clean reads! I just introduced a two granddaughters to your Super Spies series this weekend. It’s nice to know they have their noses in books that aren’t full of under-age sex and profanity. Keep writing them and we’ll keep reading them!

  4. Visit Website says:

    Another issue is video games are typically serious anyway with the main focus
    on knowing things rather than entertainment.
    Although, we have an entertainment factor to keep your kids engaged, every
    single game is normally designed to improve a specific experience
    or program, such as mathmatical or science. Thanks for your article.

Leave a Reply

