A Regency Christmas from Astraea Press

AP Christmas Regency blog hop logo 5(1)

Thank you to everyone who participated! The winners of my portion of the blog hop are:
Tin, Inga,  and Marti! Congratulations!

 

Do you love Christmas? Love Regency romance? You’ve come to the right place!

Step back in time – two centuries…200 years. Eleven Astraea Press authors wantlords leaping to take you on a journey to Christmas in Regency England…1812.

My contribution to this journey, The Toymaker, was inspired by a doll from my own collection – a doll I had long ago named Jenny.

Peg wooden dolls originated in Germany and the Netherlands around 1810, but because of their affordability and the ease with which they were crafted, they quickly became popular throughout Europe and were brought to America in the early to mid-nineteenth century. Originally hand-carved in pine, poplar, or maple, they were crafted by families of German and Dutch toymakers, and they varied in height from 2 to 12 inches, generally IMG_4727resembling wooden clothespins with peg joints. These dolls were known by an assortment of names, including peg wooden dolls, penny woodens and wooden poppets. Because of their affordability, young girls often developed extensive collections. The dolls were sold without clothing and the children would use scraps of fabric to sew dresses for them.

TheToymaker 453x680Jenny’s doll in The Toymaker was inspired by a peg wooden doll in my own doll collection. Years ago, when I was expecting my first child, I came across a simple wooden doll at a flea market outside of Detroit, Michigan. The vendor had discovered an entire crate of these antique dolls in her grandmother’s attic, and had dressed them all up. It was estimated at the time I made the purchase (for $2) that my doll was probably nearly 200 years old. I wondered then if she had been part of a young girl’s collection or if she had ended up in a scrap pile only to be salvaged for me to find her almost two centuries later. I’ll never know the history of my English peg wooden doll, so I wrote this story for all the might-have-beens.

I’m giving away two kindle or nook versions of The Toymaker (or may substitute any of my titles if you already have this one). All you have to do for a chance to win is first,  share my blog hop link on facebook (tag me on facebook  Kay Springsteen Tate) and then leave a comment here telling me about your favorite Christmas tradition.

Here’s a taste of what Mrs. Peabody thought of my hero and heroine’s antics at Lord and Lady Kringle’s grand ball…

Kay(1)

To read more, continue on your Regency Christmas journey with a stop at Sherry Gloag’s blog!

12 thoughts on “A Regency Christmas from Astraea Press

  1. Tin says:

    I’ve shared the contest link. ^_^

    One of my favorite Christmas Traditions is Christmas dinner — it’s the one time of year when we forget about our dietary restrictions and just enjoy the food (and dessert!)

    Thanks for the great giveaway!

    – khriscc (at) yahoo (dot) com

  2. Liz Riggs says:

    My favorite Christmas tradition is watching Christmas movies with my family. Tonight is White Christmas!

    ecriggs1990(at)aol(dot)com

  3. Inga Kupp-Silberg says:

    My family had and still have tons of traditions both when I was a kid and also now, but after I became a mom 6 years ago, I started creating new traditions for my own family.
    In Christmas Eve, after opening the presents (we open them on 24th), I take a book and read a Christmas related story to my son before bedtime and I read it in candlelight. 🙂 He loves it.

    Thanks for the giveaway!
    inga from Me and Reading
    inga.kupp at gmail.com

  4. Linda Thum says:

    I dont thin i’ve ever seen a peg wooden doll before!

    My fav Christmas tradition is the family get together – usually on the eve since every1 has their own families

  5. Marti O says:

    I love old dolls, so I’m excited to read this story. I also must say, whoever is writing Mrs. Peabody’s Society Pages is doing a spot on job of it. Good job to all the 11 Regency hop authors! Hope you have great success.

    martiocilka (at) comcast (dot) net

  6. Liz says:

    I really can’t wait to read this story. I’m waiting for things to settle down a bit. We seem to be in a whirlwind of holiday stuff right now. However I am going to make time to read your story before Christmas because I love your writing. I hope the holiday season is treating you well!

Leave a Reply

