A Word About Content for Younger Readers

Today I’m welcoming author, Lisa Orchard, who is here to talk about writing for younger readers. 

Hello Everyone! My name is Lisa Orchard and I’m guest blogging today for Kay. I want to take a few minutes and thank her for allowing me to be here today and chat with everyone. Thanks Kay!

I’m a Young Adult author and my second book will be available tomorrow from Astraea Press it’s titled, “The Super Spies and the High School Bomber”. I’m here today to discuss writing for the Young Adult Genre, because it’s different than writing for any other genre.

As a writer for this age group, I’m always trying to teach the reader, while at the same time show characters that are believable. Let’s face it, they have to be realistic teenagers! J

I also have to be careful not to offend anyone. In my book “The Super Spies and the High School Bomber” I had to tone down a section just for that reason. In the story I had emphasized a characteristic, (I’m not telling which one!) for a humorous affect. My editor caught this and informed me that this could be offensive to someone who had that particular distinction. Of course, I felt bad! I didn’t want to offend anyone or hurt his or her feelings.  So I de-emphasized that characteristic.

At that moment, I realized how careful I had to be. Not only did I not want to offend anyone, but I also didn’t want to encourage derogatory behavior.  Especially, with all the problems involving teasing and bullying in today’s schools. I needed my characters to set a good example for my readers.  I had to do all of this and write something entertaining enough so the reader will want to keep reading. This is no small task!

With all these goals in mind my second book in the Super Spies series evolved. It’s titled “The Super Spies and the High School Bomber.”  Below are the cover and the blurb. Check out my story and let me know if I accomplished my goals. Thanks so much for your time today!

My book will be available tomorrow on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Astraea Press.

Please visit me on my social media sites:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lisa-Orchard/328536613877060

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lisaorchard1

Website:  www.lisaorchard.com

The first book in the Super Spies series is titled, “The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer”.   You may find this on Amazon or on Barnes and Noble.   And for a limited time, a genuine bargain at only 99 cents!

 

15 thoughts on “A Word About Content for Younger Readers

  1. jvdlandersen says:

    Great post, Lisa! It’s true that we have to be careful not to offend, but I think sometimes that we tend to be offended by little things that shouldn’t be offensive. Does that make sense? And I totally agree on the teaching a lesson.

  2. Lisa Orchard says:

    Thanks for stopping by Jessie! I agree Jessie, but it’s surprising what we may not find offensive…someone else might. So I’ve got to hand it to my amazing editor, Kay, for showing me the light! 🙂 Thanks Kay!

  3. Kelly says:

    Very cool! I can’t wait to read it. And you are right. I feel responsible to my readers to tell a good story but not also to have a good, clean example for them. Great interview!

  4. Tracy Krauss says:

    I bought the ‘Super … Cat lady Killer’ during the AP sale. I don’t read a ton of YA fiction, but I do teach Junior High English so I’m on the look out for good books that would interest my students

    • Lisa Orchard says:

      Thanks Tracy! I’ve gotten very positve reviews from the young people in the Jr. High age group that have read my stories. There are lessons in each book that the readers learn right along with the characters. 🙂

Leave a Reply

