A Sweet Sample of Lifeline

So, answer the age-old question: How old do you have to be before your parents stop looking critically at the way you dress?

Throughout Ryan’ʹs life, his father’ʹs commanding presence had filled every room he entered. Some things never changed, even after a heart attack, so Ryan was glad when Justin made himself comfortable in the chair by the window.

“I want to talk with you. I know your brother warned you to keep me out of it.” He snickered. “Thinks I’ll live longer if I don’t get upset.”

Ryan rolled his eyes. “Can this wait until I’m wearing pants?”

“We can talk while you get dressed.”

Ryan stared.

His father shot a pointed look at the towel. “What? You got something under there you didn’t have when I was changing your diapers?”

Muttering under his breath about a few more inches and a lack of personal space, Ryan pulled on his briefs, then hauled on a pair of well-­worn blue jeans with holes in the knees.
Justin ran a critical eye over his son’s choice of attire. “You know, you can get a decent pair of jeans at AJ’s General Store for under twenty bucks.”

“These are my favorite jeans, Dad.” Ryan shoved his wallet into the only pocket without a gaping hole. “I’m just breaking them in.”

Justin shook his head. “Looks more like you’ʹre breaking out of ʹem, but suit yourself.” He drew a deep breath, let it out slowly. “I figure your brother caught you up on some things.”

Ryan fastened the button on his shirt cuff without looking up. “What he told me, Dad, was you had a heart attack and wouldn’t let him call me.”

“Wasn’t any point. It was over almost as soon as it started. I wasn’t in the mood for any deathbed nonsense.”

Lifeline Echoes and other titles available now  Astraea Press, Amazon, Barnes & Noble

Return to Sweet Saturday Samples

10 thoughts on “A Sweet Sample of Lifeline

  1. Jean says:

    Love the father son repartee and the refusal of the dad to give his son personal privacy. Just like some fathers! Your characters leap off the page at me, Kay. So beautifully written!! Loved your sample can’t wait to read more. I bought the book.

  2. Sandra Nachlinger says:

    The dialogue between father and son is right on. You’ve conveyed their love for each other while maintaining their masculinity, plus you’ve told the reader a lot about the father by his refusal to ask for his son’s help. Good writing.

  3. mirriamsmyth says:

    The dialogue is terrific. 🙂 I snorted and shook my head at the last line: “I wasn’t in the mood for any deathbed nonsense.” Sounds like my dad!

Leave a Reply

