Trick or Treat! Sweet Saturday Samples

It’s a Sweet Saturday/Bewitching Trick or Treat Combo:

In the spirit of October, I’ve chosen a seen from Elusive Echoes that takes place at this time of year. Hope you enjoy it.

“This belonged to my mother.” He opened the box and slid the ring out, holding it so she could see the heated fire of green emerald, the cool ice of white diamonds. His gentle laugh was a little breathless. “There’s a story that goes with it, that I’m sure Dad will tell you when he sees you wearing it.” He paused. “Melanie, will you let me put this on you? Will you wear it and agree to marry me? It can be tomorrow, next week, next year, ten years from now. Whenever you’re ready. You’re worth waiting for. I’ve never loved anyone the way I love you.”

Had she thought she would be ready for this? Her heart thumped painfully and squeezed into her throat and her chin quivered as tears filled her eyes. Her breath hitched and she couldn’t pull in enough air to speak. For answer, she held out her shaking left hand, and despite her tremors, he slipped the ring onto her finger.

“We’ve waited so long already,” she whispered, hooking her arms around his neck. “What do you think about January?”

“Happy New Year?” He leaned in and took her lips again, pushing her backward onto the seat and crawling in after her.

His body provided warmth against the cool October night, but Mel generated heat to match from deep within. Sean nuzzled her neck, spinning sensations that rocketed into her center, stirring the yearning of years and the emotions of decades. She snaked her arms around his back and arched into him. She knew the exact moment his slow burn became a recklessly ignited fuse that mirrored her own. And she reveled in the knowledge that she had sent him there.

The Echoes of Orson’s Folly: Lifeline Echoes and Elusive Echoes

Astraea Press     Amazon     Barnes & Noble

I’m giving away one PDF copy of Elusive Echoes. For a chance to win, leave a comment telling me why you’d like to read it.  Drawing on Monday, October 31, 2011

Return to Sweet Saturday Samples

Return to the Bewitching Trick or Treat Links

23 thoughts on “Trick or Treat! Sweet Saturday Samples

  1. sarahballance says:

    Wow, I have chills! And I’d LOVE to read Elusive Echoes because I thought Lifeline Echoes to be one of the best romances I’ve read in ages. No way I can miss the second installment! :c)

  2. Gloria says:

    I love romance of almost any kind, but my fave is sweet romance. Would love to read this. Thanks!

    geschumann at live dot com

  3. Fedora says:

    Thanks for the lovely excerpt, Kay! I do enjoy touching stories like this! Thanks for the Halloween treat!

    f dot chen at comcast dot net

Leave a Reply

