What Inspires You?

Do you ever feel like you just can’t do something you need to get done? Maybe you’re going through something that’s throwing you for the proverbial loop. And maybe during some of those times, you found what you need to get through because someone says the right thing, or you read something that makes you think, “Hey, I got this.” Sometimes you don’t even need to know the context of a quote to find personal inspiration because it’s the specific words speaking to you. The following are a handful of quotes from a few romance authors. Since I write romance, I thought they seemed appropriate.

What about you? Where do you find inspiration?

A cat improves the garden wall in sunshine, and the hearth in foul weather.~ Judith Merkle Riley

If you don’t go after what you want, you’ll never have it. If you don’t ask, the answer is always no. If you don’t step forward, you’re always in the same place.~ Nora Roberts

Until you lose your reputation, you never realize what a burden it was or what freedom really is.~ Margaret Mitchell

I was never one to patiently pick up broken fragments and glue them together again and tell myself that the mended whole was as good as new. What is broken is broken – and I’d rather remember it as it was at its best than mend it and see the broken places as long as I lived.~Margaret Mitchell

Nobody had ever told me how to do these things…I didn’t want anyone giving me advice until I had it all figured out on my own.~ Diana Gabaldon

I make it a policy to try never to make a complete idiot of myself twice in the same way. After all, there’s always all kinds of new ways to make a complete idiot of myself. Why repeat the old ones?~ Margot Dalton

Look, pick it up, open it anywhere and read three pages. If you can put it down again, I’ll pay you a dollar.~ Diana Gabaldon

So I write for women like that, women like me.~ Judith McNaught

The hero of ‘Whitney’ was very much patterned after Michael. Michael was my great love. He was the best of men, and could make me laugh. He could also laugh at himself, and that’s pretty special.~ Judith McNaught

Grandpa Patterson used to say: Never approach a bull from the front, a horse from the rear or a fool from any direction.~ Debbie Macomber (Texas Two – Step)

Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

