As Mother’s Day Approaches

I remember as a kid in third grade making this huge Mother’s Day card out of construction paper – the long kind folded into a “book,” with lots of pages inside and each page a picture I’d drawn or colored throughout the year, or something I’d written and turned in. The teacher was pretty resourceful to have saved the special things we’d done over the year in her class, knowing how much a mother loves to save such grand things. I was so proud of that “card/book,” and even more so when my mom hugged me and told me how much she loved it. I remembered that so much that when my own kids were small, I saved their school things and art work and helped them make the same little booklets for their grandmothers. My mom not only remembered where I had gotten the idea from – some twenty years later, she pulled out my Mother’s Day card from that year. She’d kept it with her most prized possessions.  It really is the little things that count – the small gestures that show our love.

Camp Wedding (the story of the Heartsight characters’ wedding) will be released soon as part of the Astraea Press anthology, Marry Mayhem, the proceeds from which are being donated to the relief effort in Alabama. In Camp Wedding, you will be able to read about one daughter’s great love for her mother and new father – so great she stops the wedding while she expresses it.

In the meantime, Heartsight is still available from Astraea Press, in print and for Kindle at Amazon, and at Barnes and Noble.

I’d love to hear about your Mother’s Day memories – either as a mom or as a child. Please share your memories here:

5 thoughts on “As Mother’s Day Approaches

  1. Felicia Rogers says:

    As a mother my mother’s day memories include work, work, and more work. I generally have to teach or help teach Sunday School and more often than not I end up in the nursery. But this one time…:), I did receive a rose bush because I had the most children at church. It still grows outside my window.

  2. Chynna says:

    What a wonderful idea, Kay.

    When I was a little girl, I found Holidays like Mother’s Day or Father’s Day very difficult. My father wasn’t allowed to be a part of my life and my mother wasn’t able to mother me the way my friends’ mothers experienced. Yes, it hurt but I was much more fortunate than most other kids in my situation because I had ‘Mothers In Lieu’ (I wrote a blog post about it last year: http://www.the-gift-blog.com/2010/05/nurturing-in-different-way-mothering-in.html)

    I had a loving grandmother who taught me a mother’s love could come from someone other than who gave me life. She also taught me what unconditional love was and that I was worthy of it, even on days when I didn’t believe so.

    I had a wonderful Aunt who never allowed me to give up on myself. She instilled courage and strength in me and didn’t always see or feel.

    I had a step-mother who taught me that the quality of time we spend with our children is much more important than the quantity.

    I had the gift of a Godmother who took me into her home during one of my darkest times and restored my belief in myself, my faith and will to go on.

    These women all had a part in helping me become the mother I am to my own children. I’m not perfect but any means but I am here for them and I never let a day go by without telling each of them how much I love them, how proud I am to be their Mama and giving each of them a kiss and hug whenever possible.

    I was ‘mothered in lieu’ and it made all the difference in who I am today. So for all mothers, adoptive mothers, or mother’s in lieu: Happy Mother’s Day to all!

    Chynna
    http://www.lilywolfwords.ca
    http://www.the-gift-blog.com
    http://www.seethewhiteelephants.com

  3. the1940mysterywriter says:

    My mother used to attend a little Southern Baptist church in the heart of North Houston, and every Mother’s Day, the pastor would preach the same sermon, from Proverbs, on the value of a good wife. Every year, those of us who could would join her for that little ceremony, and she’d write our names in her Bible with the date. And then she’d pin us with that Mama stare and say something like, “This doesn’t mean you can slack off the rest of the year.”
    Gunnar

  4. Elaine cantrell says:

    We didn’t have a lot of money when I was growing up, but my mother gave my sister and me a special treat every Friday evening. We’d be waiting for her when she got off work, and she’d take us first to the public library where we checked out books for the coming week. After that she gave us a minimal allowance, and we went to the local discount store to spend it. To cap the evening off, she took us to the local hot dog place for hot dogs. As treats go it may not sound like much, but we looked forward to it all week, and even today my sister and I remember it with fondness.

Leave a Reply

