Spirituality and Writing

O Lord my God, When I in awesome wonder,
Consider all the worlds Thy Hands have made;
I see the stars, I hear the rolling thunder,
Thy power throughout the universe displayed.

Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art.
Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art!

When I was a child in Sunday School, I remember being taught the song How Great Thou Art. This is a Christian hymn, based on  poem written by Carl Gustav Boberg and set to a Swedish folk song. The words still often flow through my brain today, when I look around and see the Creation of our Maker.

Since I’m a Christian and today is Good Friday, I thought I would take a moment to acknowledge my Lord and Savior. The stories that emanate from within me are there, I am convinced, because He puts them there. I am able to write them, I am certain, because His hand guides me. I’ve made some side trips in my journey to writing, am likely still making them. But the journey will end the way He has determined it should, and the road will be much more easily traveled if I follow the map He has handed me. That’s not always easy. In a world where sex sells more than sweet, where graphic and vulgar language is acceptable for children to speak on the streets, not only to each other, but to adults, it’s hard to find a writing niche. I do my best, and try to stay true to my values but it does become a temptation to see if my sales would increase if I included a hot sex scene or or two, or if I portrayed my heroes as rugged, cursing alpha males with attitude. I actually did try that with the initial version of Lifeline Echoes, and with the encouragement of a great childhood friend, Jeanne, and my editor, Stephanie Taylor, I cleaned that story up into something I would have been happy for my very conservative mother to read. And so far, this novel hasn’t been out a month but the reviews are terrific. It seems people are reading the novel and seeing the story.

Thanks to the vision of Stephanie Taylor, driving force behind Astraea Press, with her recognition of the need for sweeter, cleaner reads, I was able to get back on the road I believe God intended for me to travel all the time. Feel free to stop by and check out the many offerings by Astraea Press. Stephanie has found a wonderful collection of authors, who feel the same way about romantic fiction as she does.

Post a comment below for a chance to win your choice of either Heartsight or Lifeline Echoes in PDF.

Excerpt from Heartsight

“We’re not too late, Dan! We can’t be!”

He understood. Failure wasn’t an option on this mission. But
even though he’d only been here a couple of days ago, he hadn’t explored much with Bella. Even if things hadn’t changed much since his own childhood, those memories were long dim.

They needed a miracle.

An edgy feeling started in between his shoulder blades. It
moved up to the back of his head and drilled its way into his brain. It was exactly the feeling he used to get on recon missions in-­country, the feeling that told him he’d missed something and needed to take a second look.

He turned around, placing his back against the base of the
lighthouse, trying to conjure the picture in his mind based on long
ago memories. Nothing filtered into his awareness.

“God, if You’re there, this would be the time for a miracle,” he
whispered.

Purchases of Heartsight made through the Astraea Press website generate a $2 per copy donation to the USO Wounded Warrior program until June 1, 2011.

*****

And now, I hope you will enjoy an excerpt from my latest release, Lifeline Echoes

“You’re awfully quiet.” Sandy struggled to keep her voice casual.

“Tired.”

“Umm, yeah.” She watched him set the brake and turn off the engine, moving as if in slow motion. Not just tired. Drained. Ryan walked her up the steps to her apartment. After she unlocked the door she turned into his arms. His kiss went from soft to heated then back to gentle.

She leaned into the kiss, enjoying the feel of his muscular arms beneath her hands. She hated having to let him go.

“I wanted to watch the stars come out with you, Chicory,” he whispered.

She looked up. Even with the ambient light from town, the sky was overflowing with visible stars. “I love the stars. There are so many they almost. . .”

“. . . blend together.”

Electrical current raced along her spine. “Yes,” she whispered, wishing she could see his face.

Ryan turned Sandy so her back was to him and slid his arm around her waist while they enjoyed the view from her tiny balcony. “My mom used to tell us stories about the sky and the stars,” he murmured, his breath warm against her neck. “She said the night sky was one of God’s favorite old blankets, keeping everyone here on Earth safe and warm. And the blanket has these tiny pinholes worn in, like some comfortable blankets do. The lights we see are little glimpses of heaven on the other side of the blanket.”

“Ryan, that’s beautiful.”

“Next time, we’ll get it right.” He turned her back to face him, kissing her with slow, sweet longing. “I’ll see you tomorrow,Sandy.”

Available now:  Lifeline Echoes at Astraea Press.

And watch for Sean’s story, coming soon from Astraea Press.

7 thoughts on “Spirituality and Writing

  1. Neecy says:

    God is always a great inspiration. Astraea Press sounds like a very nice pub house to work with.
    BTW, I loved your book, “Lifeline Echoes.”. Can’t wait to read Heartsight!
    Thanks for sharing a bit about yourself with your readers. It’s nice to get to know authors outside their books.
    Neecy

  2. Kim Bowman says:

    The last review I got just pointed out how she caught the spiritual aspect of my book – the whole good vs evil and consequences for our actions. It definitely played a part in my paranormal!

  3. Jen says:

    Beautiful post! I’m writing a sweet romance, and it inspires me to hear about other writers who aren’t afraid to stay true to their values. I would love to work with Astraea Press one day soon!

  4. Amelia says:

    Thank you for proving that a writer does not always need to include hot sex scenes and curse words to write a good story. You are an inspriation to me.

Leave a Reply

