Spring Clean Reading Part 3

Today we are continuing our series on cleaner reading with Ruth J. Hartman.

Ah, Romance…How Sweet it is

When is romance really romance? Is it that first anticipated kiss? A light touch of hands? Or a steamy, tell-all sex scene. I think it’s different for every writer and reader.

Personally, I prefer sweet romances, which is probably why I write them. My heroes and heroines get to know each other by conversation, jokes, and even sometimes by arguing. In the midst of this, though, they’re recognizing their growing attraction to one another. Her arm tingled where his fingers brushed lightly against her. His heartbeat raced the first time he held her in his strong arms. When their lips met for the first time, there was a spark.

But sometimes, those sweet romances are difficult to find. I don’t know the exact percentage, but I’m going out on a limb here by saying the sweet, or semi-sweet romances are way low on the scale. And why is that? Because sex sells. Everyone knows that. But not everyone wants that all the time.

I’ve read tons of books with sex scenes. Some very explicit. I don’t mind them too much if they’re tasteful and not too descriptive. But I don’t need someone to tell me what goes where. I’ve been married nearly 29 years. I think I’ve got that figured out by now :-).

Romance can encompass many things. Yes, for some, that’s heavy on the sex scenes. And that’s fine. There are many different types of art and many different ways to express it. But for me, I long for the emotional sighs, the racing heart, and the anticipation of being with that one special person. Let’s face it. In a book or movie, once they’ve had sex, the story loses a little momentum. At least for me it does.

I realize not everyone will agree with me. That’s okay. They don’t have to. That’s why there are so many different writers and readers in the world. There’s a place for everyone. They have to figure out for themselves just where they fit in.

Ruth J. Hartman is a published romance author as well as a licensed dental hygienist. Her stories revolve around dentistry, cats, or both. She lives in rural Indiana with her wonderful husband and their two exceedingly spoiled stray cats.

More about the author can be found at: www.ruthjhartman.blogspot.com

Links to her sweet romances:

“Pillow Talk”    http://tinyurl.com/4jxq5xm

“Flossophy of Grace”  http://tinyurl.com/4bjc56j

“Purrfect Voyage”  http://tinyurl.com/4lt3snw

 

4 thoughts on “Spring Clean Reading Part 3

Leave a Reply

